The UK Pun Championships

A total sell out for the past 4 years, The UK Pun Championships arrived at its new home De Montfort Hall on Punday (er, Monday) 13th February. Celebrating the great British pun with contestants from across the UK. “A pantomime atmosphere.” (Chortle)

The 2017 winner was Lovdev Barpaga following in the footsteps of previous winners Darren Walsh, Leo Kearse and Masai Graham.


The full line up for 2017 was:

  • Iain MacDonald
  • Samantha Baines
  • Lovdev Barparga
  • Colin Leggo
  • Nigel Lovell
  • Richard Pulsford
  • Julian Lee
  • Roger Swift

The competition is a major part of Leicester Comedy Festival and follows the format of a rap battle.  Topics are picked randomly on the night and competitors then take it in turns to pun about that particular topic. Audiences vote for their favourite pun (by way of woops & cheers) and the winner goes through to the next round.  After a full evening of pun based comedy, 2 finalists then fight it out until a winner is crowned.

For info on past winners, current contestants and video clips see the UK Pun Championship website

See you in 2018!